## HOW OFTEN DO TEAMS WITH THE BEST REGULAR-SEASON WINNING PERCENTAGE CAPTURE THE POSTSEASON CHAMPIONSHIP?

## PART II: NATIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE, 1933-2020

## compiled by

## Angelo J. Louisa

Season	Team with the Best Regular- Season Winning Percentage	Postseason Champion	Same-Different
	j.		
1933 <sup>1</sup>	Chicago Bears	Chicago Bears	1-0
1934	Chicago Bears	New York Giants	1-1
1935	New York Giants	Detroit Lions	1-2
1936	Green Bay Packers	Green Bay Packers	2-2
1937	Chicago Bears	Washington Redskins	2-3
1938	New York Giants	New York Giants	3-3
1939	New York Giants	Green Bay Packers	3-4
1940	Washington Redskins	Chicago Bears	3-5
1941	Chicago Bears and Green Bay Packers <sup>2</sup>	Chicago Bears	4-5
1942	Chicago Bears	Washington Redskins	4-6
1943	Chicago Bears	Chicago Bears	5-6
1944	New York Giants	Green Bay Packers	5-7
1945	Cleveland Rams	Cleveland Rams	6-7
1946	Chicago Bears	Chicago Bears	7-7
1947	Chicago Cardinals	Chicago Cardinals	8-7
1948	Chicago Cardinals	Philadelphia Eagles	8-8
1949	Philadelphia Eagles	Philadelphia Eagles	9-8
1950	Cleveland Browns and New York Giants	Cleveland Browns	10-8
1951	Cleveland Browns	Los Angeles Rams	10-9
1952	Detroit Lions and Los Angeles Rams	Detroit Lions	11-9
1953	Cleveland Browns	Detroit Lions	11-10
1954	Detroit Lions	Cleveland Browns	11-11
1955	Cleveland Browns	Cleveland Browns	12-11
1956	Chicago Bears	New York Giants	12-12
1957	Cleveland Browns	Detroit Lions	12-13
1958	Baltimore Colts, Cleveland Browns, and New York Giants	Baltimore Colts	13-13

Season	Team with the Best Regular- Season Winning Percentage	Postseason Champion	Same-Different
1959	New York Giants	Baltimore Colts	13-14
1960	Philadelphia Eagles	Philadelphia Eagles	14-14
1961	Green Bay Packers	Green Bay Packers	15-14
1962	Green Bay Packers	Green Bay Packers	16-14
1963	Chicago Bears	Chicago Bears	17-14
1964	Baltimore Colts	Cleveland Browns	17-15
1965	Cleveland Browns	Green Bay Packers	17-16
1966	Green Bay Packers	Green Bay Packers	18-16
1967	Baltimore Colts and Los Angeles Rams	Green Bay Packers	18-17
1968	Baltimore Colts	Baltimore Colts <sup>3</sup>	19-17
1969	Minnesota Vikings	Minnesota Vikings <sup>4</sup>	20-17
1970	Minnesota Vikings	Baltimore Colts	20-18
1971	Dallas Cowboys and Minnesota Vikings	Dallas Cowboys	21-18
1972	Miami Dolphins	Miami Dolphins	22-18
1973	Los Angeles Rams, Miami Dolphins, and Minnesota Vikings	Miami Dolphins	23-18
1974	Oakland Raiders	Pittsburgh Steelers	23-19
1975	Los Angeles Rams, Minnesota Vikings, and Pittsburgh Steelers	Pittsburgh Steelers	24-19
1976	Oakland Raiders	Oakland Raiders	25-19
1977	Dallas Cowboys and Denver Broncos	Dallas Cowboys	26-19
1978	Pittsburgh Steelers	Pittsburgh Steelers	27-19
1979	Pittsburgh Steelers and San Diego Chargers	Pittsburgh Steelers	28-19
1980	Atlanta Falcons, Dallas Cowboys, and Philadelphia Eagles	Oakland Raiders	28-20
1981	San Francisco 49ers	San Francisco 49ers	29-20
1982	Los Angeles Raiders and Washington Redskins	Washington Redskins	30-20
1983	Washington Redskins	Los Angeles Raiders	30-21
1984	San Francisco 49ers	San Francisco 49ers	31-21
1985	Chicago Bears	Chicago Bears	32-21
1986	Chicago Bears and New York Giants	New York Giants	33-21
1987	San Francisco 49ers	Washington Redskins	33-22

Season	Team with the Best Regular- Season Winning Percentage	Postseason Champion	Same-Different
1988	Buffalo Bills, Chicago Bears, and Cincinnati Bengals	San Francisco 49ers	33-23
1989	San Francisco 49ers	San Francisco 49ers	34-23
1990	San Francisco 49ers	New York Giants	34-24
1991	Washington Redskins	Washington Redskins	35-24
1992	San Francisco 49ers	Dallas Cowboys	35-25
1993	Buffalo Bills, Dallas Cowboys, and Houston Oilers	Dallas Cowboys	36-25
1994	San Francisco 49ers	San Francisco 49ers	37-25
1995	Kansas City Chiefs	Dallas Cowboys	37-26
1996	Denver Broncos and Green Bay Packers	Green Bay Packers	38-26
1997	Green Bay Packers, Kansas City Chiefs, and San Francisco 49ers	Denver Broncos	38-27
1998	Minnesota Vikings	Denver Broncos	38-28
1999	Jacksonville Jaguars	St. Louis Rams	38-29
2000	Tennessee Titans	Baltimore Ravens	38-30
2001	St. Louis Rams	New England Patriots	38-31
2002	Green Bay Packers, Philadelphia Eagles, and Tampa Bay Buccaneers	Tampa Bay Buccaneers	39-31
2003	New England Patriots	New England Patriots	40-31
2004	Pittsburgh Steelers	New England Patriots	40-32
2005	Indianapolis Colts	Pittsburgh Steelers	40-33
2006	San Diego Chargers	Indianapolis Colts	40-34
2007	New England Patriots	New York Giants	40-35
2008	Tennessee Titans	Pittsburgh Steelers	40-36
2009	Indianapolis Colts	New Orleans Saints	40-37
2010	New England Patriots	Green Bay Packers	40-38
2011	Green Bay Packers	New York Giants	40-39
2012	Atlanta Falcons and	Baltimore Ravens	40-40
	Denver Broncos		
2013	Denver Broncos and	Seattle Seahawks	41-40
	Seattle Seahawks		
2014	Dallas Cowboys, Denver Broncos, Green Bay Packers, New England Patriots, and Seattle Seahawks	New England Patriots	42-40
2015	Carolina Panthers	Denver Broncos	42-41
2016	New England Patriots	New England Patriots	43-41

Season	Team with the Best Regular- Season Winning Percentage	Postseason Champion	Same-Different
2017	Minnesota Vikings, New England Patriots, Philadelphia Eagles, and Pittsburgh Steelers	Philadelphia Eagles	44-41
2018	Los Angeles Rams and New Orleans Saints	New England Patriots	44-42
2019	Baltimore Ravens	Kansas City Chiefs	44-43
2020	Kansas City Chiefs	Tampa Bay Buccaneers	44-44

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Although the league was established in 1920, it did not have a postseason championship game until 1933.

<sup>2</sup>If the postseason champion tied for the best regular-season winning percentage, the "Same-Different" result is considered to be "Same."

<sup>3</sup>Baltimore lost the Super Bowl to the New York Jets, the postseason champion of the American Football League (AFL). However, since the AFL had not yet merged with the National Football League (NFL), the Colts were the NFL's postseason champion.

<sup>4</sup>Minnesota, the NFL's final premerger postseason champion, was defeated in the Super Bowl by the AFL's postseason champion, the Kansas City Chiefs.